The Servant

“How may I serve you,” asked the sweet, Southern American voice on the phone. 

“Serve.” The word struck me. And I was 21 years old – a sailor ordering a pizza to be delivered to my barracks at Navy A-school. She asked how she could serve me. And I let her know that I appreciated those words. 

Here it is, nearly 30 years later, and I still remember that part of the conversation. During my time in the Navy and afterwards, I strove to serve those who came to me. Whether working in the Personnel Office on the USS Nimitz or delivering pizzas or repairing computers, I still strive to serve. 

Now, I am responsible to ensure others serve their customers with the same attitude. I am writing the book on customer service and support for a major industrial company. More important than knowing the product, more important than understanding incident escalation, more important than even a basic understanding of our industry – is a desire to serve others.

In today’s society, the focus is on self. “What’s in it for me?” That is the catchphrase for the generation that came of age in the 21st century. People want to be at the top, but nobody has taken the time to explain that to get to the top, you gotta start at the bottom. 

So stop asking “What’s in it for me?” A simpler question, which will get positive attention from management and from your customers, is “What can I do for you?”

“How may I serve you?”

Leave a comment